The Breakfast Battle

My wife and I tried out the new IHOP in the neighborhood tonight, and the conversation turned to breakfast, as it usually does in an IHOP. She had ordered the french toast, which is basically bread soaked in eggs. I realized the egg-in-a-basket is also an egg/bread concoction, but totally different. Egg-in-a-basket is, as far as I can tell, a British thing, and french toast states its nationality right in the name.

I have a theory that one of the two countries made its egg/bread breakfast treat first, and the other decided to make their own based on their years-old rivalry. Any evidence to the contrary is clearly a cover-up.

A bit of a dull day for game news. I wrote five stories as always, but as I’ve pointed out before, I only reference the ones I’m interested in here:

  • I know what I’m doing June 7. I love Sucker Punch, mostly for the Sly games, but inFamous was a lot of fun. I doubt I’ll get the Hero Edition, though. $40 extra? Do these people even look at what’s normal in earth money?
  • I also know what I’m doing March 8. I’ve actually already got Dragon Age on pre-order, and judging from all the extra content they’ve been giving out, my version of Hawke will be pretty insanely equipped as soon as I start the game. Some people are calling it excessive, and it is, but I don’t mind a wide variety of optional crap.

I felt like a bit of an idiot today. After losing an early battle of Tactics Ogre while half-asleep, I tried fiddling with my equipment and realized I hadn’t actually used any of the skill points I had gained to buy abilities for anyone. No wonder I was just squeaking by through battles.

The 1UP piece I had talked about was due today, but it actually won’t be running until Monday. I like how it came out, and hopefully I can do more off-the-cuff humorous pieces like it in the future.

Leave a Reply

