Roger Ebert is a master wordsmith

I’ve had my differences of opinion with Mr. Ebert. I think he’s a bit of a luddite and has a tendency to overreach with some arguments. But damn if that man can’t shred a movie. Such as the case with his amazing review of Battle: Los Angeles:

Its manufacture is a reflection of appalling cynicism on the part of its makers, who don’t even try to make it more than senseless chaos. Here’s a science-fiction film that’s an insult to the words “science” and “fiction,” and the hyphen in between them. You want to cut it up to clean under your fingernails.

Bravo, Mr. Ebert. Bravo.

It was a weird day for game news. Not a lot of big news around, just a ton of little stories. I suppose a lot of companies are preparing for PAX East, so tomorrow should be fun.

  • I sort of enjoyed the Dissidia demo I played, so I might actually pick this up. A little mini-chunk of Dissidia isn’t a bad idea. It’s sort of the Case Zero formula, if not a little less substantial from what I can tell.
  • And if I ever have a few minutes that I’m not playing Dragon Age, sure, Microsoft, I’ll help you do some network tests. The more I can make my avatar look like Doc Brown, the better.
Leave a Reply

