Dominioning

We went over to a friend’s house to night and played a little Dominion. I’m not too knowledgable about the whole custom board/card game thing, but I’ve really liked playing this one. I have my own set (Intrigue), and our friend apparently has… all of the other ones. Except Alchemy, which I’m not sure I’d like. So we had a nice mix of cards going.

I think I enjoy the recommended sets the most, because they tend to strike a good balance. The game works best when there are a few card combinations to rotate your strategy around. The randomizers are nice for mixing things up, but it’s a bit hit-or-miss. Sometimes you get some good strategy paths and sometimes you don’t.

We have a little joke about one of the Seafaring cards called Pearl Diver. It’s mostly useless, to be honest. One of these days I want to make a deck that revolves around supporting the Pearl Diver.

Apparently there’s another expansion coming along called Cornucopia, which rewards building a varied deck. I tend to do that a lot, which may be why I lose so much, so maybe that one will help.

  • I know that Homefront isn’t a great game, but it’s kind of funny how people begrudge others’ success. It’s apparently doing pretty well, so good for them. Maybe with a little polish (and seed money) Homefront 2 will be better.
  • It’s probably going to be terrible, but I’d kind of like to see what kinds of Facebook games come out of properties like Scream and Children of the Corn.
  • Remember when all those companies started focusing on downloadable stuff to combat used game sales, and people figured it would screw up GameStop’s profits? That didn’t happen.
One thought on “Dominioning

  1. Scott says:

    A “who’s the killer among your friends” facebook mystery game could be pretty great.

Leave a Reply

