Popular Thing + Other Popular Thing = $

I was thinking a little bit about the cartoons that we watched as kids tonight, and it occurred to me that we had a nice long string of producers simply taking two things that little boys like and smashing them together. Fit a loose plot around it and boom, you’ve got a saturday morning cartoon show and a merchandising deal with Hasbro.

The most obvious example, of course, was Transformers = Cars + Robots. But there were plenty of others. Jungle Cats + Knights = Thundercats. Soldiers + Dolls = Transformers. Dinosaurs + Aliens = Dino-Riders. Homoeroticism + Skeletons = He-Man.

Even girls cartoons weren’t immune. Care Bears? Teddy Bears + Love. Strawberry Shortcake? Sweets + Dolls. My Little Pony? Ponies + LSD.

With that in mind, I think we should bring this model back. Start combining awesome things to make one mega-awesome thing. I propose we start with alien robot samurai.

My Ridge Racer 3D review went up today at Shacknews. In short, it’s a decent racing game that shows off the 3DS features pretty well. My 1UP piece that had been slated for today is now set for Friday, because right now they’re running a time-sensitive piece on the Tron blu-ray.

I also put up our latest episode of Re-Play Radio tonight. It’s all about the 3DS and Beyond Good & Evil. For next time, I’ve been assigned Batman: The Brave and the Bold.

  • I’m sure I’ll get around to Killzone 3 eventually. This map pack itself doesn’t excite me, but every time I see screens of it I just think it looks gorgeous.
  • Say what you will about the quality of these mods, and commenters have, but Auir Chef is damn clever. I enjoy puns.
  • Guh-huh! That’s a lot of money.
  • I have sort of a weird personal connection to the Factor 5 closure. I received a tip back when I worked for 1UP that an animator blogged about delayed projects, so I wrote a story about it. He tried to delete his blog, but you can’t put the toothpaste back in the tube, so to speak. I sort of broke the story, which is a proud moment in a way — but it’s tied to some pretty depressing news. No one wants to see studios close and people get fired. At any rate, now some of the ex-employees have made a new studio.
Leave a Reply

