Friday Wit

I’ve found I tend to be a little more sarcastic and light-hearted in my news posts on Friday. I’m not sure if it’s because of the weekend spirit or that I’m wiped out from the week and acting a little loopy, but the rest of the time I’m more cautious with my humor. I’m not really sure why, since people seem just fine with little ribbing here and there.

My Gears of War 3 preview went live on GamePro today. I’m pretty proud of how it turned out considering how quick the turn-around time on it was. I might continue to dip into it a bit over the weekend, since it really was genuinely fun.

  • This is a good example of being a bit more sarcastic on Fridays. The whole TF2 “Hatless Update” thing struck me as kind of funny, so I just made my whole post whining about the lack of hats.
  • Sometimes stories come in pairs. For example, it’s funny how Sony announced a new copy incentive (similar to EA’s Project $10) for both MotorStorm Apocalypse and SOCOM 4 on the same day.
  • And in another pairing, an announcement of more Rock Band 3 DLC as Guitar Hero DLC comes to a close.
  • This Portal ARG was definitely the top story of the day, and I have to hand it to Valve for being pretty clever with it. They’re helping to promote indie games and giving people a chance to play Portal 2 a little early. I’ve done a little quick and dirty calculating of the status bar, and it’s through about 15/100 unit blocks. It’s been up for 10 hours so far, so if it continues at the same rate, it would be unlocked sometime Monday. That’s still early, mind you, but I have a feeling that devoted nerds will leave games running all weekend to help towards the effort. We already saw it speed up quite a bit after people started getting off work, and now they have the whole weekend. Earlier today I ball-parked it as unlocking sometime on Sunday, so I’m sticking with that.
Leave a Reply

