Waiting for Shepard

One of my most anticipated games of 2012 isn’t a game of 2012 anymore. Mass Effect 3 got hit with a delay today, but I don’t mind. Most of the time a delayed game means it will be better for it, and as the closing point of this series (or at least this part of the series) I want it to deliver. BioWare has helped define this generation, so no need to rush them.

I’ve been wondering what happened to a feature I put together for GamePro, and I was told today that it went live last week. So here it is, Making a Disability-Friendly Industry. I really liked this one. My favorite pieces are the ones that I get to learn new things and then relay them, so a research-intensive one like this is a lot of fun.

  • “Sorry your data was stolen after we told you for two weeks it was safe. Here’s a free hat!”
  • This doesn’t seem that unbelievable to me. If you’re buying a bunch of cheap apps for every one more expensive XBLA game, of course you’re going to skew results. The proof is in the pudding, and the money spent is still on full console games.
  • Yesterday was kind of a nice reprieve with no Sony news. Then today exploded again, with the company revealing that whoever broke in left an Anonymous calling card. The story is long and detailed, so I won’t go into it. Suffice it to say that I feel a little bad for the sincere Anon guys who try to be white hats, but when you base your entire culture on anonymity, anyone who says they’re Anonymous counts as a member of Anonymous. You want to distance yourself from the black hats, get stricter membership standards.
  • With all the new information that came out of Sony’s response to Congress, I suggested we put together a timeline, which Garnett liked. It was a lot of work combing through all the news, but I like how it turned out. Didn’t get the biggest response, but this is more of a resource than a conversation-starter.
Leave a Reply

