Games (Journalism) as Art

I know a lot of people like to put air quotes around games “journalism,” to imply that it is not really journalism, because it’s only journalism if you’re breaking big stories and bringing down the Nixon administration.

Clearly, I have some problems with this assessment, but I do understand that our reviews are more along the lines of product reviews than critiques. Garnett tries to focus on this at Shacknews. We cover the mechanics in our reviews because that’s about technical proficiency, but we always try to touch on the “feel” of a game as well.

Along those lines, this Infinity Blade review struck me as pretty brilliant. It’s an interactive piece in itself, and it expresses the ideas of the game succinctly. I’m not entirely convinced that Chair meant to imbue the game with all of this meaning, but I’m a firm believer in the idea that art is at least 50% interpretation. If that’s what this guy got out of it, great. The review itself is amazing. You don’t need to be familiar with the game, just the general conceit that you play continuing bloodlines down the years. Watch it through to the end.

  • In completely unsurprising news…
  • I’m a fan of the Ratchet games, but I don’t really have three friends to play All 4 One with. Not sure if I’ll get it or not.
  • Valid concerns from developers, but it’s not like Sony can do anything different. They’re between a rock and a hard place here.
  • I could take or leave these bonuses, but I’ve already pre-ordered the game and the addition of Sly’s Cane is pretty awesome.
  • CAPCOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!
Leave a Reply

