In blackest night

I’ve been waiting with baited breath for the reviews to start coming in for Green Lantern. I’m not a comic nerd, but maybe sort of tertiary nerd. I tend to watch comic movies and I have some level of familiarity with them. I’ve thought Green Lantern looks pretty terrible for a while, and the lack of reviews for so long seemed to lend weight that it wasn’t going to do well against critics.

It sits at a 20%, and that’s a pretty damn black night. It’s not as if it’s easy to do a live-action version of a (let’s be honest) silly concept, but I was hoping this would be campy fun. I might still catch it on DVD, but I doubt I’ll hit the theater.

If you are looking for a movie to watch this weekend, see Super 8. It’s wonderful.

I popped in Child of Eden for a little bit, renting it from GameFly. It seems… short? I’m playing with a controller, since I don’t have Kinect, and it just feels like new Rez levels. This isn’t entirely a bad thing, but it seems like anyone paying the full retail price is donating to a developer that they love and appreciate. And there’s nothing wrong with that. Lord knows I’ve done it a few times with my own pet franchises.

  • So the Wii U won’t play DVDs, and I don’t really care. The PS3 is pretty much my dedicated DVD/BR device, and that’s when I even watch a disc. More often I just use Netflix.
  • There are rumors, and then there are things that you technically have to call rumors even though it’s completely believable and looks legit and there’s no reason to doubt it. This Black Ops DLC is the latter.
  • I’m not sure how I feel about $5 for one Mortal Kombat character; I’d really have preferred they batch Skarlet with Kenshi, and then Rain with this mysterious fourth character. $5 for that seems fair. Oh well. I set aside some cash for the first pack, so I’ll get it anyway. It’s already tied to my PSN account. Plus Skarlet’s story is nuts.
  • I haven’t followed Gunstringer very closely, but I liked Comic Jumper — for what it was, at least. The controls were pretty stiff, but the sense of humor was great.
Leave a Reply

