I’m still very bad at From Dust

I’m not finished with From Dust — a rough estimate from a glance at the stages makes me think I’m almost halfway through. I’m digesting it pretty slowly, trying to chip through a stage every day or so. Sometimes the AI can be a bit dim, or , but most of the time I figure I’m just flat-out bad at being a god.

In one stage I very slowly built a land bridge over a pretty large mass of water. I feel like there had to be a better way that the designers intended, and I just wasn’t getting it.

Like last week with From Dust, I have a very, very small amount of experience with this week’s game, Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet. Great art style, solid controls, though I do wish that shots were mapped to the stick instead of the trigger. It’d be a little more twin-stick-like, but I think it would fit.

  • I’d like to play the free-to-play Peanuts game if there’s a “give Charlie Brown a rock” mini-game.
  • There’s probably some truth that the lack of games is to blame for the 3DS sales, but I don’t think you can totally discount smart phone games. They’re incredibly cheap and people are more used to bringing their phones with them everywhere. It’s a pretty serious threat, so hopefully Nintendo figures how to deal with that. I like my handheld systems, so I want to keep getting fresh content for them.
  • The Old Republic looks like it’s shaping up nicely. I’m not sure I’m a crazy enough fan to pay $150, but it might tempt me to really get into an MMO.
  • I try not to be unjustly harsh on Origin, which is why it’s kind of funny that the responses in the Comments seem to think we’re not giving them a chance. Oh well.
Leave a Reply

