Deus Ex: Human Revolution thoughts (spoiler-ish)

I finished up Deus Ex: Human Revolution tonight, so I’ll be sending it back to GameFly to assure I can get Resistance 3 and Starfox next week. I’m not sure how much I can add to the consensus: it’s a good, if slightly uneven experience. Think Fallout meets Blade Runner.

The boss fights are every bit as bad as you’ve heard, and they felt more like luck than anything. The hacking mini-game is inventive, but once you upgrade your hacking you breeze through most of it without a sweat and kind of break the challenge of it. I know it’s possible to go through fully stealth and only kill bosses, but after trying that for the first stage and growing increasingly frustrated, I started capping dudes. Combat isn’t the game’s strong point, but it’s much more accessible than stealth.

(Keep in mind, here, that I’m pretty bad at most stealth games, so the problem may be entirely on my end.)

So in the final stage, you basically deal with zombies. Not literally zombies, but the zombie enemy arch-type. They run at you full speed in groups and use melee attacks. Zombies. I would feel bad about taking out dozens of civilians, but by this point my version of Jensen was kind of accustomed to shooting his way through whatever happened to be in the path of his goal. I had crossed some moral boundaries with him a while ago, so it kind of fit the character to mow down a bunch of random people in service of his objective.

Also, at risk of repeating what everyone observed, Jensen’s voice is absolutely ridiculous. I’m not going to insult the voice actor, because you never know if it was him or the direction or whatever, but it was truly laughable. Maybe if they established that the attack burned his vocal chords or something? I don’t know. It was silly.

Continuing to plug away at the Indie games, I tried out Speedrunner HD. Meh. I’m not a speed-run type of guy. I like to get through games more than play them over and over to shave milliseconds from my time. I downloaded Train Frontier Express, and I’ll be sharing thoughts on that, The Baconing, and Madden 12 sometime in the near future.

This seems like a good mix of Ambassador games, and I had forgotten that they’re due this Thursday. As a Zelda fan, it’s probably a mark of shame that I’ve never finished Zelda 2, so this seems like as good a time as any to give it a shot.

You hear that? That’s a tidal wave of games coming, son.

  • Breaking: Notch says same things about Steam that EA has been saying, suddenly everyone sees EA’s point.
  • I do remember enjoying RollerCoaster Tycoon as a kid. Strangely, I was also terrified of actual roller coasters at the time.
Leave a Reply

