WayForward: 4; Skepticism: 0

I’m sort of developing a minor (not so minor) crush on WayForward, because it’s track record just keeps pressing out games that should not be nearly as good as they are. Contra 4 was my first encounter, and they did an accurate job of carrying on the Contra legacy. So accurate, in fact, that I never finished the game. A Boy and His Blob showed a softer side — it had a hug button — but was just as charming. Batman: The Brave and the Bold captured what makes that show so damn fun, and had some really clever gameplay options to make it accessible for younger players who would be attracted to it.

BloodRayne: Betrayal came out tonight, and my early impressions are thus: it is very hard, and beautiful. WayForward always impresses me with its 2D animation, but this is probably the best I’ve seen so far. Videos don’t really do it justice, you have to see it yourself. I don’t even care about the BloodRayne series, but I like this direction.

I haven’t played their Thor game yet, or Aliens: Infestation, but I’m assuming they’re fantastic. I think I’ll pick up Shantae: Risky’s Revenge too.

  • True to form, Payton stepped out about as gracefully as he possibly could have. No matter how he did it, some of the peanuts gallery would rag on Halo and talk about how he has no faith in it, but his side of the story seems fair.
  • I don’t really play a lot of Dragon Quest games in general, but an online-centric Wii/Wii U title seems like a weird choice. Requiring subscription fees seems weirder. But in Japan, who knows? It might be a hit.
  • Ten bucks, huh? Well alright then.
Leave a Reply

