Rochard

I’m almost finished with Rochard, or at least I think I am. At this point I’ve had two or three “you’re almost done” fake-outs. I’ve been enjoying the game; it’s got a nice witty nature and a lot of character. I suppose I was hoping for more of an open world, though. It’s very much “stage” based, with various puzzle rooms to solve.

There’s nothing wrong with this, but it ostensibly seemed to be more like Shadow Complex or Metroid, with a large map to explore and slowly chip away at. Instead, it’s fairly straight-forward and if you’re in a room you can be guaranteed you already have whatever is needed for it.

I suppose in short, I was expecting to be blown away, and I am merely pleased. There are worse things.

  • I’m not sure how I feel about Gotham City Impostors, but this animated trailer was pretty well done. It wasn’t particularly humorous, but the animation style seemed to fit the game and the choreography was well done for a promotional bit.
  • War for Cybertron was a rare gem of a Transformers game, and Dark of the Moon took a step back in most ways. You can’t blame High Moon, really. It was a movie game and had time constraints. But I much prefer their work on original stories, so Fall of Cybertron should be worth looking forward to.
Leave a Reply

