Aliens: Infestation is not what I expected

I got a chance to play around with Aliens: Infestation tonight. I think my love for WayForward is pretty well-documented, so I don’t need to go into it again. But wow, this game is not what I expected. I’m not quite sure what to make of it, but I have to tip my hat for being so daring.

It probably takes a good 15-20 minutes before you get into a single enemy encounter. Even then, they’re security robots instead of aliens. The marines are actual characters, and once they’re dead, they’re dead forever. Combat is infrequent and more of an inconvenience. You’re mainly exploring a derelict ship searching for the tools to explore new areas. It ostensibly looks like a Contra game, but it plays more like Metroid.

So in short, I should love this game. I suppose the one thing holding me back is that the environments and obstacles look so similar that I’m not totally sure where to go. I know exploration is the goal, but I’ve spent about an hour with it and 10 minutes of that was probably going back to areas I had already been because I didn’t understand or remember what to do next. Maybe I just suck.

I also played some of the new Dragon Age DLC. My Hawke is a sarcastic lesbian who hit on every woman in the game — and it worked on all but the clearly straight woman who asks you to help set her up with a man-friend. Needless to say, I’m hitting on Felicia Day Elf like mad. I brought Isabella along too, just to check if Hawke’s steady girlfriend will get jealous. Also, they really lay the French accents on thick. It’s kind of nice that this DLC has its serious moments, but things like that show that they’re having fun with it and winking at the audience.

  • Game design decisions aren’t news per se, but I liked some thoughts behind the Halo legacy. Plus, it seems to imply that Halo 4 is going to be a Halo-ass-Halo game.
  • Apparently there’s a part in Battlefield 3 where you shoot cops? Yipes. You have fun dealing with Fox News on that one, EA.
  • If this FFXIII-2 is actually good, as it has every right to be, I would welcome additional items and enemies for a reasonable price. But that’s a lot of maybes. The battle system in FFXIII was so damn good, though, I really want this game to shine.
Leave a Reply

