Taking Triple-A for Granted

This is an odd season for games. We get so overloaded that we tend to overlook a lot of the low- and mid-tier games, but sometimes I even shrug off the big-budget games until the last moment.

Take Uncharted 3 for example. I definitely want to play it, and I loved the previous two games in the series, but when a franchise has that much stock in its legacy and reputation it’s easy to just gloss over any new information. I’ve been assuming it will be really good and not thinking much more about it. Now reviews are coming out, and they’re pretty universally glowing, and it’s snapped me back awake a bit. I think I was taking it for granted that the game would be awesome, and you don’t realize what that really means until you get closer to launch. I have to imagine that’s one of the stranger challenges of being a PR person: getting people to care more about the game that they’re just assuming will be great as a matter of course.

I finished Arkham City last night, and without spoiling anything, I’ll just say that is one game that did the final boss encounter and ending right. Stick around during and after the credits, kids.

I pitched a Halloween-themed piece to GamePro and it went up today: 11 Creepy Enemies from Kid-Friendly Games. It’s about time somebody called out the Spooky Mask.

I should have another piece on 1UP in early November that I’m pretty happy with. It might get some angry comments, but you know. Net rage.

  • Valve boss Gabe Newell talked a bit about some of the pricing experiments they’ve done on Steam, and I thought it was really interesting. It’s also very inside baseball and takes a lot of explaining to get to his main points, so I was afraid the response would be “tl;dr” — thanks for reading, Shackers.
  • Super Meat Boy is like punching yourself in the spine for funsies. So if you want a few more spine-punches, hoo boy! (I liked SMB, which makes me wonder if I could stand to enjoy Dark Souls. Similar masochism, right?)
  • Half of me wonders if part of the reason Sonic games are so out of style these days is that they just aren’t long-format games. People expect 6-8 hours for their dollars, and Sonic games tend to either be much quicker or overstay their welcome. That’s what made the Sonic 4 idea so intriguing. Anyway, rambling aside, pitting Generations side-by-side with Sonic 1 feels like it’s going to display the design differences pretty starkly.
Leave a Reply

