The Year of Threes

Sequelization is a big part of our industry, just as a matter of course. We might complain about the lack of originality, but building engines and character models is hard, and iterating on existing franchises is easier than creating all new games, all the time. More so, it benefits gamers, because most of the time sequels improve on the original. Unlike the movie industry, in which sequels are generally regarded as inferior, we tend to look pretty favorably on sequels.

Threequels are kind of tricky, though. Sequels have the benefit of taking whatever you loved about the first game and making a few improvements. By the time you roll out a third game, people tend to expect something new.

My point is, this year has a ton of threequels. Uncharted 3, Modern Warfare 3, Battlefield 3, Gears of War 3, Resistance 3, etc. Mass Effect 3 was pushed into next year, but the same point applies. We seem to be taking all these threes fairly well and on their own terms, and some (like R3) are a marked improvement over their predecessors. I’m not sure if we’re getting better at iterating for a second go-round, or if our standards are changing, but I think summing up the reactions at the end of the year will be interesting.

Also, Assassin’s Creed Revelations almost counts as a threequel. Technically it’s the fourth main game in the series, but c’mon, we all know that series really started off with #2.

Finally, for the record, and since I know people are preparing at this very moment to get their hands on it at midnight launches: I do not care about Modern Warfare 3. I might rent it sometime, but it’s just not a game I feel the need to hop on the zeitgeist for. I will cover it, because that’s what I do, but I really don’t plan to play it anytime soon.

This week’s big release, as far as I’m concerned? Super Mario 3D Land.

  • I’m not sure why these ME3 preset options would be controversial, but I suppose they are? The internet rages about some strange things.
  • Keep saying the right things about Rainbow Six Patriots, Ubisoft. I know it’s more than a year away, so I hope you have one heck of a long-form PR plan for it, but so far I like what I hear.
One thought on “The Year of Threes

  1. Bryan Carr says:

    YEAH SUPER MARIO 3D LAND.

Leave a Reply

