iPhone is the new Facebook

So among today’s stories (below), there was a report of a new Assassin’s Creed iOS game. I won’t go into the details of it, but there was already one iOS game for the series if memory serves. This isn’t entirely new, but I’m noticing this is becoming a trend. A year or so ago, a lot of big franchises were launching with tie-in Facebook games. Now it’s iOS (and occasionally Android) games. Strange how trends change.

  • The Assassin’s Creed iOS game actually sounds pretty cool. I’ll have to keep an eye out, but a CCG seems like a much better idea than the click-fest Facebook game.
  • I swear to God, it felt like today’s news stories were punking me. We shall refer to this Total Recall browser MMO as Exhibit A. Which is nothing compared to…
  • The Power Rangers MMO, also known as Exhibit WTF. I originally had this story opening with a little gag about how we recognize the series from years ago, and acting surprised that it still exists. My editor said fans might not like that, and despite my perfectly valid counter-argument that fans probably aren’t reading Shacknews, I went ahead and changed it anyway. But seriously, it’s a closed beta brawler MMO? And then there’s a mother-loving trailer? What is this I don’t even.
Leave a Reply

