Uncharted 3 first impressions

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do any kind of impressions post, since Skyrim has kept me pretty well occupied. But I’ve gotten in a tiny bit of Uncharted, so a few quick observations.

Opening with a brawl sequence that controls ostensibly like Arkham City was a bit of unfortunate timing. I don’t think anyone would’ve noticed if the game hadn’t followed on AC’s heels so closely, but it seems like anyone who played both simply had to notice how much weaker the melee combat in Uncharted is. I’m not trying to badmouth it; melee isn’t the game’s focus, but it was just a sad bit of unfortunate, inevitable comparison.

The game’s writing is as sharp and smart as ever, and the animations are much improved. I’d like to say I’ve gotten farther in it, but to be honest it’s been difficult to muster up the motivation. Skyrim keeps calling me back instead. Still, I’m not trying to turn this around for another GameFly rental anytime soon, so I can take my time to digest it.

  • There was some consternation over this Call of Duty endowment in the comments. I wanted to handle it carefully — handing out promotion for a company based on their charitable efforts makes it decidedly less altruistic — but I think we struck a good balance here. No matter what assumptions you make about Activision, they did give a lot of money that will do a lot of good. And for all we know, this is just an issue that Kotick is really passionate about. I’m willing to shrug and give the benefit of the doubt.
  • Sometimes you comb through a really long interview, find the most interesting news bits, weave it together into a well-crafted and concise news story, and not a single person comments. At any rate, I’m looking forward to Skyward Sword.
  • My two favorite things about this story are (a) the use of my own, stupid looking avatar as the topstory, and (b) that my editor let me keep that funny quote from a Reddit user.
  • I seem to have misplaced the PC vs Console outrage thread. I was sure it would come yesterday with my Skyrim review, but now–oh wait, found it. I really didn’t expect this to become a platform war, but hey, sometimes this stuff surprises you. At any rate, I had played mostly with the game installed and noticed the odd low-res texture here or there, but didn’t think much of it. Today when I uninstalled the game it did look much better, so suffice to say I’m convinced that’s the way to go for the time being. As long as you don’t mind longer load times and (depending on your 360 model) the constant sound of a jet engine.
Leave a Reply

