AC Revelations first impressions

I’m writing up the blog entry tonight a bit later than usual because I wanted to have some time to get impressions in for Assassin’s Creed Revelations. These are just initial responses, of course, and keep in mind I’ve got a bit of a love affair with the series.

It opens pretty darn slow. Or maybe it’s more accurate to say that it opens very narrow. These are open world games, and for the first hour or so you’re on a very set path. I’ve only just gotten to the point that I feel like the world has opened up and I can go explore, which is really what I like to do in these games.

It’s getting a little buried under its own weight, it seems. They’re adding new features here like the hook, but giving you a tutorial on all the old stuff plus all the new stuff is probably what made the introductory bits take so long.

I’ve only done one “tower defense” challenge so far, and my response is: meh. It isn’t patently offensive, but it feels tacked on and unnecessary. The payout is nice and big, though, so maybe I’ll do a few extras to get more money. I like eventually becoming a high-roller.

The new setting is nice and colorful, and most of the new characters seem well animated and have cool designs — particularly Yusef, the leader of the Constantine Assassins. Story-wise, I’ve heard this doesn’t push the plot as much as it could have, but it does put a face to a character we’ve been hearing about for a while, and a voice to another one we’ve only heard mentioned. So that’s progress, I guess.

Other than that, it’s definitely Assassin’s Creed. You cut dudes. And Old Ezio is a cool character model to see after having so much time with the character, even if his body animations don’t act old at all.

  • Shocker: MW3 sells a bunch.
  • It seems like a strange choice to lock a major selling point of your game. I imagine when people bring it home they might just want to jump into the single-player.
  • I enjoyed Torchlight a lot, but I preferred it with a controller. Torchlight 2 probably won’t come out for consoles, at least according to what they’ve said so far, and I don’t think the Mac version would support a 360-USB pad. Oh well.
Leave a Reply

