NCW: Spider-Man’s Mole Man diplomacy

NCW, in a moment.

I’m sure it’s not an unusual sentiment, but pondering Miyamoto’s much-reported new role at Nintendo, I’m pretty excited about the possibilities. The era of him bursting with creative ideas has seemed somewhat tempered by acting in a managerial role. I’m sure he’s provided valuable input, but he strikes me as more of an idea man. Let’s see where his latest crazy hobbies take us.

I actually managed to fish out Uncharted 3 from my broken PS3 tonight. I was a chapter away from finishing before, so now I’m wondering if it’s worth it to go through the entire game to play the ending, or if I should just catch the ending on YouTube and be done with it. On the whole, I liked it okay, but I felt like they overloaded it with shooting and melee combat when traversal was really the appeal of it for me. Uncharted 2 stands as the best of the series, even if this one has better-looking cutscenes.

It’s Wednesday. I bought a couple of new comics. That makes it New Comic Wednesday.

Avenging Spider-Man #2: I picked this up at Bryan’s recommendation, but missed the first issue. I couldn’t find any back issues on the shelf, so I just jumped in, but it caught me up pretty well. This was more of a buddy cop show than a real full Avengers team-up, but I like the Red Hulk/Spidey dynamic quite a bit. This is an odd threat for them to take on, but I like the writing and the art is absolutely fantastic. These Spider-Man titles has a real panache for color. I suppose if I had to come up with a criticism, it’d be that for a book with “Spider-Man” in the title, Spidey was more the talkative diplomat and didn’t actually get much action. Still, that’s reaching, and Spidey’s inner monologue provided for a hilarious opening gag. I don’t usually audibly laugh while reading comics, but I did for this one. Probably my favorite book of the week.

Also, it doesn’t seem like the digital copy can be used with Comixology. I might pick up the Marvel app, but it’d be nice to have it all centralized.

Action Comics #4: I like Action quite a bit in general, and this was a fun “big crazy spectacle” type of book. At the same time, it felt like a bit too much plot going on. We had about four different things all coming to a head at the same time, and then they added a hero cameo on top of that. It was a quality cameo, but it just made the story as a whole feel a bit overstuffed. They ended on a nice little bit of Superman lore, and I’m sure the writer’s task was to get there somehow, but another issue or two might’ve been better paced. Not bad, but not up to the standard of some prior issues.

  • I have to say, this was a much meatier 3DS firmware update than I think anyone expected. The “Add-On Content” addition has nice promise that we’ll get that sooner rather than later, and Nintendo Zone could be a nice way to get extra stuff. The “Accomplishments” feature is an intriguing tease, so I’m hoping it pans out into full-blown support for all games. I’ve been thinking while playing Mario Kart how nice it would be to have a few extra obscure goals.
  • Mike Capps’ Vita comments created some nice discussion about the problem that the mobile marketplace is creating for traditional handheld devices.
Leave a Reply

