The importance of finishing well

I wrapped up Uncharted 3 last night, like I tweeted. To be honest, I felt a bit tired of the formula during most of the adventure. Even playing through the first time, it felt like everything would last just a little too long. You’d get in a melee fight and then five more guys would join. You’d get in a gunfight and they’d just keep coming. During one chase sequence Nathan Drake actually says “this is getting old.” And my thought in response was, yes! Yes it is!

It wasn’t a bad game — far from it. It just felt a bit tedious at parts.

However, the pacing during the last hour or so of the game is spot-on, and it wraps up the story really nicely. There’s a really nice moment during the ending that shows the relationship between Nate and Sully, and that’s really the heart of this game. So despite my protests, it ended on a high note, and left me with a good feeling toward it overall.

Plus, no crappy boss fight!

  • I might actually pick up a Circle Pad. I don’t really want it, but I feel like it’s only a matter of time before I find a game that I’d rather have it to play. You win this round, Nintendo.
  • Bryan has been trying to get me into Sonic CD, and it might be a future assignment on Re-Play Radio when we start it up again. So it’s nice to know I can get it on the cheap.
  • I don’t care much about UMvC3, but I think the most interesting thing about the Vita functionality is how it’s potentially beating the Wii U to the punch.
Leave a Reply

