Surprised by Impostors

I had a preview-like feature that we call a Field Report go up today for Gotham City Impostors, based on a few hours with the beta test. We try to avoid making direct game-to-game comparisons in our writings, because it’s usually lazy shorthand in a formal setting, but this is a personal blog. It’s very Team Fortress 2. And those who have known me for a few years know that I lost a lot of hours to Team Fortress 2. Like, probably about 300 hours. I’m not even kidding. So suffice it to say, finding a new game with a (hopefully) vibrant community and some cool customization bells and whistles? I’m a little afraid I’m going to lose myself in this thing.

I’m particularly proud of the field report itself, since it really seemed to flow. Some days you just hit your stride and feel good about your work.

News is slowing down before the holidays, but there should be enough to go around for the rest of the week. I imagine TOR’s launch tomorrow will provide a little fodder.

  • It’s not every day I get to write a story in which I reference Sy Snootles. Also, that screenshot at the top is definitely not from the dancing mini-game, but I like to imagine that it is. The rancor busting a move to some hot Max Reebo beats while crushed Tatooinians scream below his feet. It would be amazing.
  • This story about Mario & Sonic Olympics was pretty niche, but I loved it. If you read between the lines, it’s basically a bunch of guys commiserating over all the weird hoops they had to jump through to get sign-offs from the companies in control of the characters. I think the way I arranged the story makes it a bit more of a cohesive tale than the disparate comments from the interview, especially the little button comment at the end. It was fun to relate that to our readers, even if none of them have actually commented.
Leave a Reply

