Year of the Games: February 2011

Yesterday may have been a slow start, but that’s how years go. Just look at the release list for the next few weeks. Now we’re onto February, which has a bit more to speak of — both in number of releases and the size of them. So let’s get right to it.

Marvel vs Capcom 3 – Half the time, I don’t even know how what my fingers are doing relates to what’s happening on screen. I hit a few buttons and the screen goes double rainbow on me. I would talk about the fighting mechanics or game balance, but as far as I can tell I might have accidentally rented a laser light show.

Stacking – I loved this game more while I was playing it than in retrospect. It’s easy to get swept up in the charm, but the puzzles aren’t incredibly challenging and it’s over a bit too fast. I love the creativity and writing, but it needed a bit more than that.

Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together – Final Fantasy Tactics is one of my favorite games of all time, and this felt like the sequel it never had. Which is odd, since this is a remake of the game that inspired FFT. The point is, this captured all the political intrigue and complex battle mechanics, with some clever new additions. I’d like the inventory system to be a bit less obtuse, and I ultimately became demotivated by the game’s equivalent of the Riovanes Castle set of battles.

Bulletstorm – This is dumb humor done smartly, in stark contrast to some other releases this year. You don’t combine that much profanity without knowing exactly what you’re doing. It’s become one of the more overlooked shooters, but the Skill Shot system gave the arenas an almost puzzle-like aspect. It got a little over-serious near the end, but when the writing is embracing its own insanity it really shines.

Tomorrow is March, and honestly I’m a little scared. Eleven games. Good thing I committed to keeping these blurbs short.

  • I’m on the record as loving Nintendo, but I just can’t care that much about Mario Party. Maybe I need more friends.
  • I’m not surprised that most Vita games will be priced around 3DS games, but $50? Even for Uncharted, that’s a stretch.
Leave a Reply

