Massively Multiplayer Effect

The Mass Effect 3 demo cracked open its multiplayer goodies to let us feast on the sweet fruits within today. I tried out one match, and feel more-or-less the same as I did before. So-so. They have a nice suite of customization and class options. My easy first choice was to go with Vanguard and give her a red suit with yellow highlights and name her Samus. This is also what I did in Halo: Reach, or pretty much any game that renders females in visored space armor.

It’s smart to make the multiplayer wave-based co-op, because I don’t think anyone would want to play against other humans. The controls always felt a bit utilitarian to me in Mass Effect. They’re good for their purpose, but part of it is commanding your squad. Combat isn’t really why I play Mass Effect. I like bumping my stats and seeing all the cool new stuff I can do, but that’s about it.. Maybe that’s why I’m meeting the multi with some amount of ambivalence.

I know I’ll play at least a bit, especially if it has some impact on the single-player story. Plus, I have to at least play to the point that I can start my Salarian character. Too bad they can’t be Vanguards.

Speaking of multiplayer, I wrote some impressions of Gotham City Impostors. I’m still playing nightly, so it must be doing something right.

  • An HD screen for the Wii U would be nice, but I’d imagine they cut the 3D idea for the same reason they don’t have it on the bottom screen in the 3DS. Touch and 3D don’t really mingle well. They might seem nice, but if you invite them both to a party they’ll get in a fight and everyone will leave with a headache.
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 has seemed incredibly likely for a while, and now even more so.
  • I believe this marks the second time that Microsoft has doubled back on its Indie games placement.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

