Mass Effect 3 first impressions

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do a “first impressions” post. But Mass Effect 3 came out today, and as one of my most anticipated of 2012 of course I got it today. I’m only about an hour and a half in. The game has sort of an extended tutorial of sorts, across two planets, teaching several of the battle mechanics. I’ve just gotten to my first area of free roaming, but I can’t hop from planet to planet quite yet.

They must scale the difficulty, though, because it didn’t feel too easy in those beginning areas. It started me at level 31, so I figure it must have tweaked the difficulty knowing I had played before.

The game is awfully pretty. Mass Effect has always been a good-looking series, but it always had a few rough edges. The animation would clip in a weird way at certain times, or some minor characters would have goblin-faces. This one does a lot to smooth out those problem spots, which helps it look more cinematic and less distracting.

The combat is very similar to previous games, especially ME2, but it seems like some small adjustments have made it feel more natural as a shooter. I’m still not convinced that I’ll get into the multiplayer, but it does feel more like a true action game. Plus, they plugged in some more customizing RPG elements.

Already I’ve had a few nice story moments, from the helplessness of the situation at the beginning to being reunited with one of my favorite characters. I can’t wait to dive in for more.

Of course, none of this has stopped the internet from bashing the game on Metacritic. This seems to happen for games constantly now, but for whatever reason Mass Effect 3 got a lot of pre-hate. I can’t tell if they’re upset at the game’s wall-to-wall marketing (god forbid they market their big game) or bitter towards BioWare for Dragon Age 2 (which is still better than the hive-mind thought). Whatever it is, I’m glad the critical reviews are providing a counter-balance. From people who, you know, actually played the damn game.

  • Co-op seems like a logical next step for Assassin’s Creed, but I’m curious how they’ll manage it from a character perspective. Still, yes. I approve of this.
  • WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOUR FACE.
  • Google takes its next step to challenge iPhone.
  • After the 30% discount most of these Gamers Choice discounts are still a little too steep for my casual interest, but I’m pretty sure I’ll get Infamous Festival of Blood.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

