A taste of Infamous with a hint of vampire

I picked up Infamous: Festival of Blood last night, since it’s on sale and I dig Infamous anyway. I have to say this might be one of my favorite premises all year. Go on and tell me this isn’t amazing:

Vampires kidnap a superhero and use his super-blood to revive their queen, Bloody Mary. This is set in the midst of a bizarre holiday called “Pyre Night” where residents of New Marais (New Orleans) carry torches to mark when they burned Bloody Mary at the stake. And all of it may or may not be a story that Cole’s idiot friend is telling a woman in a bar to impress her.

Amazing.

The gameplay is very much classic Infamous, with a couple of little vampire twists. You can drink blood or stake other vampires to gather up vampire powers. He still has his lightning but it’s all sort of a moody red palette. As a little taste of Infamous for people who might not be sold on the full game, it’s a really cool diversion. And the story might be even better than the real Infamous games, because it trades on its ridiculousness in such a cheeky way.

  • I sort of wanted the Steam Box to be true, because it would be nice to have a standardized, cheap(ish) PC box that I could hook up to my TV.  At the same time, I can understand how that’s not a market they particularly want to get into, when being a distribution platform itself is working out so well for them.
  • Inafune isn’t saying anything he hasn’t said before in this GDC talk about Japanese games, but he says it so well.
  • Speaking of Japanese games: Man, I don’t even know anymore.
  • This is not going to help THQ’s money troubles.
  • I’ve got to admit, I’m not a huge fan of Angry Birds, but I might give Angry Birds Space a try. The trailer was especially fun due to the charming nerd quality of the NASA astronaut.
Leave a Reply

