Now Playing: The Pre-Pre E3 Edition

I haven’t taken a free-form approach to a blog post in a while, so I thought tonight was a good time for it. We’re approaching E3, and about to hit the busy(ish) summer season of releases before it lulls again. I know of at least one review coming, but until that arrives I’ve been occupying myself thusly:

Zelda: Skyward Sword – Yes, I’m still working on this. I’ve taken a few extended breaks, but over the last week or two I’ve been really powering my way to the end. This may be one of the most inconsistent Zelda games I’ve ever played. Twilight Princess was a bit paint-by-numbers and dull, but it was at least paint-by-numbers all the way. Skyward Sword has moments of unquestioned brilliance, with amazing artistry and creative concepts. Then it trips over itself with unnecessary bits that slow the pacing to a crawl. From a design perspective, it’s a game concept in dire need of an editor to chop out the extraneous bits. 10 hours shorter and it would be up there with Link to the Past.

Minecraft – I played it again! This time on Xbox 360, for review. My more complete thoughts can be found there, but in short it mostly recaptures that magic. I’ve gotten a bit re-addicted to it, and on my 360 it’s easy to just chip in a few minutes and then quit out to do something else. I’ll have to see if it gets picked up by a wider audience, because it would be nice to have more multiplayer time.

Hot Shots Golf – Wow, does that game get frustratingly hard fast. I went from straight 1st place finishes in one set to 20th or so in another. It probably doesn’t help that I play almost exclusively while tired and getting ready for bed.

My first piece went up today for Joystiq, titled Portable gaming’s ‘Race to Zero’. It’s an idea I’ve had for a while, and I’m pretty happy with how it all turned out. I’ll hopefully be contributing more to Joystiq, along with my other usual suite of freelancing targets.

  • I feel like I need to give Adventure Time a shot. It seems like one of those things that everyone seems to get, and the little bits of the show I’ve seen just haven’t struck me. Maybe I need to see an episode from the beginning to understand. At any rate, the licensed video game has one of the best titles I’ve ever seen.
  • It’s just in the rumor phase for now, but the idea of a cross-game system that tracks all of your Kinect exercise is actually a really good idea.
Leave a Reply

